338235486888240 486377435793741. 486377435793741.
top of page

March Is Developmental Disabilities Awareness Month

It is estimated that between seven and eight million Americans of all ages, or 3% of the general population, experience intellectual disabilities. Nearly one in ten families in the U.S. are directly affected by a person with intellectual disabilities at some point in their lifetimes.

Lincoln County currently serves 356 eligible adults, children, and families experiencing intellectual and developmental disabilities. Services are designed to promote choice, independence, and self-determination using person-centered practices.

Common developmental disabilities include Cerebral Palsy, Down Syndrome, Prader Willi, Autism Spectrum Disorders, Fragile X Syndrome, fetal neurological disorders (alcohol, lead, drugs, disease), Klinefelter, and traumatic/acquired brain injury. The Developmental Disabilities Pride Flag was created in 2019 by Ann Magill.

  • The black field represents mourning for individuals with disabilities who have suffered, lost their lives from violence, negligence, suicide and/or eugenics.

  • The diagonal stripes suggest cutting across barriers faced by individuals with disabilities.

  • The flag's five colors represent different types of disabilities:

    • Red (physical disabilities)

    • Gold (neurodivergence)

    • White (invisible and undiagnosed disabilities)

    • Blue (psychiatric disabilities)

    • Green (sensory disabilities)

For more information, please call the Lincoln County CDDP office at 541-265-0482 or visit the website https://www.co.lincoln.or.us/hhs/page/intellectual-and-developmental-disabilities

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page